Posted by: Mer Pints | March 19, 2009

Nicole’s Controversial Affidavit (Saving the VFA?)

Much has been said about Nicole when she recanted her statement regarding her rape by  a US serviceman, Marine Lance Corporal Daniel Smith on November 1, 2005 in an affidavit she signed on March 12, 2009 which was submitted to the Court of Appeals. Some said she was pressured by the government; others believe there was an amicable settlement which includes a US Visa; her former said there is no recantation of her previous statement;  the DOJ Secretary said she could be liable for perjury; some sectors believe she’s an scapegoat to save VFA; and  her mom insisted nothing pressured her for doing it. But as far as the VACC is concerned, Nicole is a traitor.

Daniel Smith had been found guilty of raping her but his lawyer elevated the case to the Court of Appeals. And right now he is detained at the US Embassy in Manila courtesy of the Visiting Forces Agreement. Some legal minds believe it is possible that the CA would reverse the decision and set him free because of Nicole’s affidavit.

But whatever we say, Nicole is already in the US. Her mom appealed for public understanding and leave Nicole’s alone so she could move on. 

Here is a copy of Nicole’s affidavit submitted to the CA for you to appreciate.

REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES
CITY OF MAKATI

SWORN STATEMENT

I, (NAME WITHHELD), of legal age, Filipino, a resident of Zamboanga City, after being duly sworn in accordance with law, hereby depose and state:

1. I am a Bachelor of Science graduate, major in Management Accounting, of the Ateneo de Davao University. Soon after my graduation, I took up nursing in 2004 at the Ateneo de Zamboanga City and at the same time assisted in managing our family owned canteen located inside the military base of the Southern Command. My mother was a civilian supervisor of the Philippine Navy for 25 years while my deceased father was a Philippine Navy Officer.

2. Since our canteen also catered to American servicemen who stayed at the military base every time their vessels docked in Zamboanga City, my family came to know many American servicemen who would go to our canteen to eat and buy souvenir items. We treated them as family and we would go out of our way to talk to them, play cards and on many occasions, my mother would even cook special meals for them. They would even entrust their ATM cards to us to withdraw money for them from the bank. My former boyfriend, Brian Goodrich, is also an American serviceman.

3. After working in Swift Foods Inc. since January 22, 2007, I decided to quit my job as a Cost Accountant to pursue my studies in the United States through the help of my family, relatives and close friends. I know that they supported me so that I could finally move on after my tragic experience in 2005 in Subic, Zambales which led to the trial and conviction for rape of Daniel J. Smith.

4. Deep inside, however, I know that I may never be able to move on for as long as I continue to search for answers to so many questions that have lingered in my mind regarding the incident in Subic more that three years ago. Daniel Smith was convicted of rape because the court accepted my version that he took advantage of my intoxication i raping me inside a van that took us to the seawall located at the SBMA Alaba Pier at around 11:30 in the evening of November 1, 2005.

5. Daniel Smith’s witnesses said that while we were at the Neptune Club, I sat on Daniel Smith’s lap and that we kissed each other passionately. I remember that before I met Daniel Smith at the Neptune Club, all I ate was a slice of pizza at the Grand Leisure Hotel. After the pizza, everything else was alcohol drinks from vodka sprite, B52, Singaporean sling, B53, long island ice tea to bullfrog all of which I drank bottoms up. I do not recall Daniel Smith having ordered any alcoholic drink for me. My drinks were all paid for by Chris Mills who invited me to go to the Neptune Club.

6. I had no opportunity to deny in court that I kissed Daniel Smith but with the amount of alcoholic mixed drinks I took, my low tolerance level for alcohol and with only a slice of pizza all night, it dawned upon me that I may have possibly lost my inhibitions, became so intimate with Daniel Smith and did more than just dancing and talking with him like everyone else on the dance floor. Looking back, I would not have agreed to talk with Daniel Smith and dance with him no less than three times if I did not enjoy his company or was at least attracted to him since I met him for the very first time on the dance floor of Neptune Club.

7. When I danced with Daniel Smith for the third time, my companions, Chris Mills has already left Neptune Club since they had to catch their curfew time at the military base. The lighting was sufficient for people to recognize each other and other marines were with their Filipino partners drinking, dancing, and enjoying each other’s company and kissing and hugging among partners was a common scene.

8. With the events at the Neptune Club in mind, I keep on asking myself, if Daniel Smith wanted to rape me, why would he carry me out of the Neptune Club using the main entrance in full view of the security guard and the other customers? Why would the van park right in front of Neptune Club? Why would Daniel Smith and his companies bring me to the seawall of Alaba pier and casually leave this area that was well lighted and with many people roaming around? If they believed that I was raped, would they have not dumped me instead in a dimly lit area along the highway going to Alaba pier to avoid detection?

9. I told the court that Daniel Smith kissed my lips and neck and held my breast inside the van. Recalling my testimony, I ask myself how I could have remembered this if witnesses told the court that I passed out and looked unconscious when I was brought to the van by Daniel Smith. How could I have resisted his advances given this condition? Daniel Smith and I were alone on the third row of the van which had limited space and I do not recall anyone inside the van who held my hand or any part of my body. What I can recall is that there was very loud music and shouting inside the van.

10. If the travel from Neptune Club took only several minutes and with the driver of the van trying to beat the curfew time of his passengers, how could I have instantly regained my consciousness and talked to the people upon reaching the seawall of Alaba Pier? When people gathered around me at the seawall, everyone seemed to have drawn the conclusion that I was raped except for one who called me a bitch.

11. Based on the account of the SBMA police, I was very hesitant to board the mobile police car that brought me to the headquarters for investigation. I was so confused and the first thing that entered my mind was how would my mother and boyfriend react if they learn that I was last seen with Daniel Smith and that a condom was seen on my pants after Daniel Smith left the van? I was scared of losing not only my American boyfriend but the chance of living in the United States. In fact, I did not immediately tell my boyfriend that I was raped by Daniel Smith. All I said was that something bad happened to me.

12. I expect many sectors to question my motives in executing this statement more than three years after the incident. However, as I practically grew up interacting with American servicemen in Zamboanga City who treated me and my family very well, and thinking over and over again how I may have conducted myself at the Neptune Club, I can’t help but entertain doubts on whether the sequence of events in Subic last November of 2005 really occurred the way the court found them to have happened.

13. My conscience continues to bother me realizing that I may have in fact been so friendly and intimate with Daniel Smith at the Neptune Club that he was led to believe that I was amenable to having sex or that we simply just got carried away. I would rather risk public outrage than do nothing to help the court in ensuring that justice is served.

AFFIANT SAYETH NAUGHT. 

Kung ano man ang naging motibo ni Nicole sa pagbawi nang nauna na niyang testimonya na siya ay pinagsamantalahan ni Daniel Smith, siya lang at ang kanyang pamilya ang nakakaalam ng tunay na pangyayari.

Pero nandito ang kopya ng kanyang affidavit para inyong mapag-aralan at magkaroon ng kabatiran. Bahala na po kayong magisip mga kababayan.

Ano man ang sabihin natin si Nicole pa rin ang biktima at ang kanyang bansang matagal nang binubusabos ng mga dayuhan.


Responses

  1. una sa lahat di siya dapat nagpa influence sa ibang tao. yeah she’s confused and all pero malaki na yung damage na nagawa niya. sana lang talaga maging maganda ang kakalabasan ng ginawa niyang ‘to dahil i think madami ang magagalit.. T_T

  2. nang mag-recunt, este recant si nicole, ang unang tuwang tuwa ay ang pinakaganid sa lahat ng bugaw na nabuhay sa mundo, si gloria.

    nakapagtataka na nangyari ang recuntation ni nicole isang araw matapos tumuwad este, tumawag si barack kay mamasang at kaagad din ay naisyuhan siya ng visa samantalang kung tutuusin ay maaaring markado siya sa US embassy dahil sa pagkakakulong ni smith.

    isa pa, bakit din sa amerika siya magpapatuloy ng pag-aaral (ng ano?) gayung amerikano ang naglugso ng kanyang kapuki, este kapurihan? maaari namang sa britain para mabago naman ang kanyang matikman, este kapaligiran.

    ang gulo kasi nitong si lore-LIE fajardo, eh. nahihilo ako sa kanilang COMPROMISE.

  3. Karangalan ng mga Pinay ang ipinaglaban ni Nicole hindi lang ang kanyang sarili. Sinuportahan siya ng buong bansa sa pagaakalang inapi siya ng isang dayuhan. Nakapagtataka naman na gayon-gayon na lang niyang binawe ang naunan niyang testimonyo na naging basehan ng kaso laban kay Corporal Smith. Napatunayang nagkasala iyong Amerikano ngunit halos nakakalaya pa siya. Masakit isipin na talagang napakalaki ang agwat ng Amerika sa Pilipinas kaya sila ang nasusunod hindi tayo sa ating bansa.

    Alam ko na hindi lang personal na bagay ito, may bahid din ng pulitika. Gaya din ang hinala ni mang Magno, ako’y naniniwala na may kinalaman dito ang pagtawag ni presidente Obama sa ating Pangulo.

    Gusto ko iyong sinabi ni Mer, kahit nasa Amerika na si Nicole (bunga marahil ng ano mang kasundoan) siya pa rin ang ultimate victim sa usaping ito.

    Opinyon ko lang ito at ipinanalangin ko na sa bandang huli mananaig pa rin ang katotohanan at katarungan.

  4. Noong una pa lang ay duda na ako dito kay Nicole.Lahat ng blogger doon kay Ellen Tordesillas pinutakte ako dahil ang paniniwala ko ay consensual sex.

    Una hindi nabutas ang condom dahil basa ang butas.Pangalawa walang bahid ng dugo at naiwan sa loob.American sausage ang pumasok at hindi langonisa bakit naiwan?Nakita ko iyung condom extra large.Buwisit may nakauna.Hehehehe!

  5. Naunahan ka ba Cocoy?HIHIHIHIHIH
    Ayun sa salaysay ni Smith si Nicole pa raw ang naglagay ng condom,ibig sabihin may baon na si Nicole.

  6. Rape or no rape, Nicole victimized herself and got two awards for it, a US visa and huge $$$ stipend. She definitely knows what she’s doing.

    Iniwan niya pansitan ang Gabriellas at si grizzy. heheh!

  7. Nagpagamit nga ba si Nicole para hiyain ang mga Kano at mapawalang bisa ang kasunduan sa VFA? May mga haka-haka nang lumalabas na ganito ngayon. Kaya dismayado tuloy ang isang Kongreman dahil pinaglaruan lang ni Nicole ang ating judicial system. May pasaring tuloy ang aking poging lolo sa DOJ na maaring kasoan si Nicole ng perjury. Pero kumambiyo din siya sa pagsasabi, for what?
    Ang talunan dito ay ang mga Filipina na nanganganib mapagsamantalahan, sa Pinas at sa ibang bansa dahil sa paniniwala, maaring bilhin ang biktima at ligtas ka na sa ano mang pananagutan baby, hehehe.

  8. Naala-ala ko tuloy ang isa ko pang lolo, ang nasirang si Raul Manglapus. May joke kasi itong lolo ko na “if rape is inevitable, relax and enjoy it.”

    Tanong, did Nicole enjoy it? May be not, kasi nagreklamo siya. If ever, di naulit pa iyon. Not once, not twice, but as many as they want it. Malas lang ni Smith dahil hinid niya napaglabanan ang tawag ng laman, pinatungan niya ang lasing kaya naman siya minalas.

    Ngayon nagdududa na si Nicole, kagustuhan ba niya o nalito lamang siya. At dahil hindi siya nag-enjoy ang feeling niya tuloy siya a pinuwersa. At least ganito ang pananaw ng karamihan sa sinabi niya sa bago niyang affidavit ngayon.

    Pero kung ano man ang katotohanan sa likuran ng lahat ng ito, tanging si Nicole lamang ang nakakaalam, as others believe.

    Pero sa akin, bahala siya sa kanyang buhay. At wala akong paki kung ano man ang kanyang ginawa. Nasa US na siya, why don’t we congratulate her? Nawa’y manatili na siya sa doon ng pang-habang buhay para sa kalaonan ay maibabaon din sa limot ang lahat ng ito.

  9. Kim,
    Parang girls scout, laging handa di ba?

  10. haaay… kawawang nicole.

  11. Ano ba ang ibig sabihin ng mukhang pera? Sasagutin ko kayo sa aking bahay. Pasyal kayo doon.

  12. naghahanap ako ng unang affidavit ni nicole.

    malaki ang kinalaman ni obama at gloria.
    ilang beses pumunta ng amerika si gloria para sumuso sa puwet ng mga amerikano kapalit ng pansariling interes.

    isang tawag…hello sir. ano po ang maipaglilingkod ko?!

    two dyas pagkatapos ng tawag ni sir kay madam president. lumitaw ang affidavit sa pagbaliktad ni nicole.

    bago ang lahat…wala ng masilungan ang VISITING FORCES AGREEMENT. binaha ng protesta sa kongreso, sa senado, artista, negosyante, filipino chinese. Marami ang tumututtol sa VFA. Lalo ng ang mga magsasaka at manggagawang tinatahak ang lansangan upang irehistro ang masamang epekto ng VFA at ang ganid na paglukob nito sa sambayanang pinoy.

    ano kaya ginawang pananakot ng sir sam at madam glo kay nicole?

    Magkano kaya ang kapalit na ahalaga kapalit ng pananatili ng mga tarantadong kano sa ngalan ng VFA?

    Isang abugadong pinoy na nakasuso sa puwet ng mga kano?

  13. Suzette finally WOKE UP.

    It keeps getting clearer and clearer that both Smith and Suzette were USED in this case because they are young and naive.

    Suzette was used by Gabriela, Maza, Bayan Muna, Hontiveros, Madrigal, Salonga, anti-Americans., etc.

    Smith was used by Judge Pozon and the Philippine Judiciary System.

    The Philippine DOJ must investigate Suzette’s lawyer, Evalyn Ursua, and Gabriela, Bayan Muna, etc., and find out if Ursua wanted Suzette to give false testimony.

    If proven guilty, Ursua and her groupies could go to jail from 6 years to 40 years.

    GOOD!

  14. lol si nicole galing zamboanga yan! to make my comment short ito lang sasabihin ko.. anong klaseng babae 2-4am in the morning andun sa labas ng airbase nag-aabang ng balikatan boys?


Leave a Reply

Categories

