Posted by: Mer Pints | April 20, 2008

DADDY, WHEN ARE YOU COMING HOME? chapter 2

Ang Mga Pagluha ni College Girl, part 2 (based on true story)

Because I was certain it was dad, I started to panic, I felt he recognized me so I had to figure out how I could react should he approach me. My mental processor was working fast, probably twice the speed of lightning. I had to anticipate possible scenario that may transpire, lest we may create a scene that would invite the attention of people. That should not be the case, or else I would die of embarrassment.

I felt so relieved when my clinical instructor and a regular nurse rushed to the scene. Dad caught me with a glance but he was so concerned with the condition of this child to spare even a second for a thought on me. They rushed the child to the emergency to be attended to by a physician.

Memory flashback, dad did the same thing to me when I was seven. I had difficulty of breathing and a high fever due to pneumonia. He worried so much about me that he rushed me to the hospital wearing only his pajama. He even prayed to St. Peregrine for my survival and recovery. I know dad can’t bear the pain of seeing his daughter suffering and much more  dying. I know dad feels the same thing with this child. My sister?

Good news, the child stabilized and was brought to the children’s ward for confinement and to undergo more medical tests to insure her recovery. I know dad felt so relieved too in the same manner as he did when the doctor declared him I was out of danger. I could still imagine his handsome face smiling at me, at  that time, telling me there’s nothing to worry about and that I would get well soon.

There’s nothing to worry about? Not this time; my clinical instructor reprimanded me for my lapses in judgement. I was there to respond to emergency  but I failed to react as expected. It was all because I was avoiding an encounter with dad. All I could do was to apologize and accept my mistake. It’s a good thing it was my first aberration. I could still hear the stern warning of my clinical instructor. “Don’t do it again.”

The clinical instructor left, she instructed me along with another student to be alert and on standby. My classmate took a chair and sit at the nurses table. I remained to where I first spotted dad, just standing there hoping and probably waiting for him to come and see me. And it was so.

I heard a soft-baritone voice from the rear calling my name. That melodious voice of a man resonating like magic to my ears is no stranger to me. It was from my dad! He looked at my face and smiled, I was so transfixed on that scene. I remained motionless breathing deeply and waiting what will happen next. Yes, I was so eagerly waiting.

He looked at my eyes then went down to my nameplate; and with much eagerness he said, “Mer, I know it’s you.”

“Yes dad, I am.” And tears started to fall and roll on my cheeks.

He gently placed his hands on my shoulders, his practice everytime he had to say something important to me, but this time they weren’t there for long. Of course, I wanted those hands to be there much longer so I could feel once again secured and fulfilled by the warmth of his love and the magic of his touch.

“Ikaw nga  anak. Dalaga ka na pala; nagagalak ako at nagkita muli tayo. (It’s you daughter, now a lady. I am so glad to see you).

:’The same with me dad, it has been a long time.”

“How is Christine?”

“She is fine dad, now a junior high school student.”

“I wish I could see her too.”

There is sadness in his eyes, I wanted to embrace him but I could not muster enough courage. I know dad wanted to embrace me too but he restrained himself for fear of creating undue attention of people around.

When eyes staring at us grew in number, dad quickly back off and said, “maguusap pa tayo, diyan ka lang muna (we will talk again, see you).”

“Yes dad,” I said with a fainting voice as he slowly walked away.

Many years of longing to see the man you love, unexpectedly he came and talk to you, it is not that easy to control your emotions. As for me, I cried. I cried in a place and time I should not be.

Two of my classmates saw me crying; they were wondering what happened so they rushed to me and asked.

Quickly I made up a story. I just told them that my uncle had just found her daughter he did not see for so many years.

“So, that man who approached you was your uncle?” They looked at me with questioning eyes. As if they couldn’t believe what I said.

“Yes, “I said without any hesitation but with much guilt inside me.

“Then you should not be crying,”

“I know, but it’s only tears of joy,” I said.

And this is no lie, it’s the truth. Who wouldn’t be happy to see their parents they’ve been missing for years?

They left me apparently convinced and sensing there’s nothing wrong.

I pulled out my cellular phone in my bag. I texted Christine.

My message:

Good news, I found dad and we talked together.

Her response:

Are you kidding?

My response:

No, it’s true. He is here in the hospital.

She texted back:

Are you sure ate? Can you take his picture and send it to me now?

Yes, I wanted too right away. I was so excited, but where’s dad?

(To be continued)

 


Responses

  1. You make me cry college girl. Nice story to read specially those families of OFWs.

  2. You said something about “kurot sa puso”. Taragis, saksak sa puso ito, tagos. Like that song of Michael V.

    Hey, that was just to cheer you up (or did I?). I really don’t know what to say. But I feel I have to say some comforting words. I don’t know what.

    Well, the post did push some emo buttons here. Can’t wait for the next installment.

  3. Salamat po for the comments. darating na po ang susunod. Salamat po for visiting TonGue-tWisTeD and to doc.bobonyo. Sana po doc.bobonyo huwag kayong matakot sa mga student nurses. Nagkataon na ang nurse na natagpuan ninyo ay may lahing Bengal tiger. Biro lang po. huwag magalit dahil mahal na mahal ko kayo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

